A Artists Power?

I am an artist. I can make things look good on a piece of paper. Not much eh? I mean a lot of people don’t really pay attention to what I do. Through out high school I was unknown around school. I just went to my classes and got mediocre grades in math, science and English. The one place where I devoted a lot of time and effort at was in my art classes. But I realized that most anybody could get a good grade in those classes and my talent went for the most part un-noticed. People who know me probably would say that I complain about being a neglected artist just as much as I boast about it.

Have you ever thought about the power of art? The reason why I say I complain about being a neglected artist just as much as I boast is because I really don’t think the world gives us artists enough credit. Now, you could point to me and say “Is that why you do art? To get credit?” I would have to say you are right, our gifts aren’t about getting “credit” or self profit. It is about so much more.

I have the power to make whatever I want so that I could emphasize a point. If I need the subject to be twice as fat as it is humanly possible to be (so I can emphasize the point of obesity), then I have the ability to make the person that fat. I could make teachers look like zombies to try to point out that something is wrong with the school system. I could make something have a mans face and frogs legs for kicks and giggles. Whatever I want to draw I could draw. Those who are good artists can make something look so good that others want to look at the picture as well. It could be just a few lines on paper but still have an appeal that would make others look at it.

I am an artist. I could make things look good on a piece of paper. This is a powerful gift. Now my question is are we going to use these powerful gifts in the way that God is calling us to? There are many people who have gifts but choose to not use them or only use them for self profit. We no longer can take those paths. The power to make things look good on a piece of paper can change the world, what can your gift do?

 

One comment on “A Artists Power?

  1. minnowspeaks says:

    I think you do have power as an artist. And, perhaps it is best if people don’t really realize it.

Leave a Reply

