A Gift That Was Missed

I put my hands on the chair during worship at church. When the music starts to play I get very still, thinking for a few minutes, not trying to exactly get in my spiritual grove but just think about life and God. It really isn’t a huge sight or anything but most of the time I get “in the moment”, where I forget about the people around me and start just thinking about the beautiful music being played. Then it happens. I start to hit the chair in front of me. I don’t really think about it but I am trying to go with the beat of the music. The chair is like a drum and I just start tapping it. I don’t think I am too loud or distracting but really, I don’t care. I am in the moment.

The thing is God truly gave me a gift with music. I was very musically inclined as a kid. I loved the music that came from most the Disney films I watched. I always had the feeling that I could make those noises and always wanted to do something like the drums or the violin.

However I did not begin to get any instruction with music until 7th grade. In the 7th grade I began piano lessons along with my brothers. I was being home schooled at the time but we did have a piano and my neighbor volunteered to give us some lessons. I wasn’t too big on the idea. I mean I liked music but I didn‘t like practicing or instruction and piano wasn‘t the instrument for me. I would need to miss like a bunch of TV shows and put like a ton of time into practice. That just didn’t seem to be my cup of tea.

Well, my mother ended up pushing me into the lessons. And I fell in love with it. I can remember the first time I learned a song, “When The Saints Come Marching In”. I played it all the time. I loved the feeling of me myself making music. I, not anyone else was creating a beautiful sound that rung throughout the house. I also was learning much faster then my brother. I truly had a gift, it came naturally.

Many years later I took a test measuring all aspects of my intelligence. I was not taking any piano lessons at the time. Piano along with all other types of music ended the year after I started the lessons. We moved out of our house leaving the piano and neighbor who gave me lessons behind.

The test however was surprising. I knew I liked music but did not think much of it. I did take piano lessons for about a year but I did not remember how to play any of the music anymore. Music intelligence however was the second highest score I had in the whole test. Think of it as a pie graph the two largest pieces of the pie (by a considerable amount) were spatial intelligence and musical intelligence. I could understand spatial, I mean I am an artist and you need to be able to know how to work with space if you want to be good at art. But why would I score high at all with music? I mean I only took music for one year in my life.

The real thing is that I missed a gift. God truly gave me a gift in music and I often think of how it would have been like, if I decided to use the gift God gave me. I mean it wasn’t just like beginners luck when I was taking piano lessons. I was really talented, I had a feel for the sounds coming from the keys, the sounds were not just interesting and fun to me but more importantly they were speaking to my soul..

Looking back, deep down I realize I saw this calling toward music, but I chose to drop the ball and not pursue a gift that God truly gave me. God has been kind enough to give me a new calling that even deals with music a bit. But my question is how many visions or passions will we pass up because following them takes us on a path less walked on? When are we going to decide that the passions God has given us are more important than anything else? It doesn’t matter what society or your friends or your parents think? What matters is our heart and the calling of our soul.

This entry was posted in Art, God.

Leave a Reply

